balcony culture and community art

July 7, 2009 § 2 Comments

i invite all of you who read this blog to particiate in this lil piece of community art.  by sending me pics and photos.  and words.  and whatever you want to digitally.  and i will print them out and incorporate them into this balconey art.

walk home 4

so i have been thinking a lot about community, art, and borders for the past few months.

one of the things that i have realized is that making art seems to stress me the fuck out.  i get knotted up about the art piece being good enough.  or whatever.  so i started sketching in an art journal.  just trying to loosen up.  and searching for my vision of the world.  i started taking photographs of the world around me.  loving the digital camera that lets me just snap. snap. snap. and then run home and see what i saw.

and these practices definitely helped.  to open myself to my own vision.  but the notebook started to feel too small and confining.  and i love taking pictures.  but i still wasnt feeling myself as free.  i was still caught up on perfectionism and meaning.

so habibi bought this 6 foot piece of canvass and i have been painting for the past couple of days.

at the same time in talking to lex about porch culture in the south and stoop culture in the north and i was saying: man, i miss having a porch.  and then i said.  oh but we have balconeys here in cairo.  and realizing that there is a very definite balconey culture here because everyone lives in an apt.  and even cheap apts have at least one balconey.  and that i want to make our balconeys a site for urban street art and contributing to a culture of balconeys in abdeen, cairo, egypt. i also wanted to do an art project with aza.  and so she will be painting and drawing

so i am painting this latest piece and i when it is completed.  i will hang it on our balconey.

and i want to invite all of you who read this blog to particiate in this lil piece of community art.  by sending me pics and photos.  and words.  and whatever you want to digitally.  and i will print them out and incorporate them into this balconey art.

send it to me at primitivedragonfly at yahoo dot com or leave a link in the comment section…

as to the type of art i am looking for.  i am pretty open about it.  take a walk through your neighborhood and take pictures or sketches.  a poem.  questions.  a story that you want to share.  photos of you or your family friends community.  art.  posters.  your ordinary heroes/heroines.  a piece of art/painting/writing created by someone else that you want to bring forth.  the possibilities are endless.

i am really excited that this piece will:

1. contribute to the visual community of the neighborhood

2. mean that aza gets to paint

3. will act as a bridge between my online communities and my offline communities

4. will bring forth a more complex picture of middle east africa for those who do not live here and a more complex picture of europe and the americas for those who do not live there. and show the interconnections between these multiple sites of expression and communication

5. find another way to break through the censorship, imprisonment, and torture of bloggers in egypt

§ 2 Responses to balcony culture and community art

  • Derek says:

    I used to worry about my art not being good enough, and then one day a thought popped in my head. That thought was “fuck it”. Not everything I do artistically is going to be very good. oh well. I figured I should use my lousy art as training for better art. Learn what elements of what makes something better. With music, I discovered that easy to sing along choruses made for a good song. Make a song that has an easy to sing along chorus that really says something makes for a great song. With poetry I learned to give up on rhyming and just say what I want to say in as illustrative way as possible. I’m no photographer, so I wouldn’t know how to approach it, but I would imagine I would always look for stark contrasts visually, or at least look for something ironic. I dunno, just my 2 cents.

  • […] i live?  in what way can i take care of myself and this community?  and once i realized that.  that art and community building and motherhood have much more in common than they do in difference. that i was able to let go of the perfectionist repressions that i was bringing to the […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading balcony culture and community art at guerrilla mama medicine.

meta

